Campus Atlántico Tricontinental

Universidad de Las palmas de Gran CanariaUniversidad de La Laguna

Campus transformation. Current position


  • The Canary Islands Universities currently respond to a common implantation model, that of the island”.
    • ULL.
      • Main campuses: Central, Anchieta, Guajara
      • Secondary campuses: Ofra, Santa-Cruz-Fine Arts, Santa Cruz-Nautical Studies
    • ULPGC.
      • Main campuses: Tafira, Obelisco, San Cristóbal, Montaña Cardones,
      • Secondary campuses: President’s Headquarters-Administrative Services, Marine Scientific and Technological Park in Taliarte.
  • The Campuses of the ULL and the ULPGC build up a global university network across the island geographical scenario reflecting internal diversity in their respective spatial resolutions, which are, however, compatible with the existence of common signs of identity: the Campuses take the metaphorical shape of the university maxim of “unity in diversity”.
  • The Canary Islands Campuses are located on the different islands of the archipelago. The main campuses are found on the outskirts of cities (San Cristóbal de La Laguna and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria). The three main campuses of the ULL and the four belonging to the ULPGC act as elements that lend structure to the territory, playing a key role in the planning of transport infrastructure and other facilities on a regional level. They play a relevant role in the planning of new urban development areas (through their inclusion in the Urban Planning General Plans of the municipalities where their principal headquarters are located).
  • The Campuses of the ULL and the ULPGC are spatially compact and functionally dependent on their social-urban surroundings. They act as promoters of cultural, social, economic and urbanistic-architectonic innovation in their surrounding areas. They deploy a physical vocation over the growth areas of their corresponding cities.